home >  categories >  dress & attire >  isabel donnelly bridal alterations >  reviews

Isabel Donnelly Bridal Alterations

Services:

Dress & Attire

Bridal Alerations in Howard County, Maryland
Phone: 443-765-5465 
5145 Morningside Lane, Ellicott City, MD 21043
 
Overall Rating
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.9/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.9/5.0
Professionalism:
4.9/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.9/5.0
Flexibility:
4.9/5.0
 
71 Total Reviews
 
Maura
Wedding: 8/1/14
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.5/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Isabel was a pleasure to work with, and my dress turned out beautifully. We met several times, and she was extremely thorough throughout all of the fittings. It was obvious that she had years of experience, and the alterations she performed were detailed and precise. As several of the other reviewers have mentioned, her expertise does come at a price, but it was absolutely worth it. I had total confidence in Isabel and her work, and while she yielded fantastic results, she was also so friendly and easy to talk to. She is warm and engaging, and she absolutely strives to make her customers satisfied in every way. She even helped me pick out my jewelry when I couldn't decide! I am so happy that I chose to work with her because I had no doubt at all that my dress was in great hands. I would absolutely recommend her to other brides without reservation!
Private User
Wedding: 7/6/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Isabel is not only the sweetest woman ever she does great work! I am a pregnant bride and came to Isabel late in the process - only two weeks before my wedding. Not only did she reassure me she could make my dress work she did it quickly and beautifully, and it wasn't an easy feat to squeeze a pregnant lady into a non-maternity dress. I'd recommend her to anyone in need of alterations.
Private User
Wedding: 6/28/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I truly cannot thank Isabel enough. She is WONDERFUL!!! If I could give her 100 stars, I would! Isabel was one of my absolutely favorite vendors to work with. I feel like she saved my wedding! I purchased my dress from a local store and loved it. After it came in, the store had me come in for my fitting/pick up and brought out their seamstress. I figured I would just have my alterations done there - why not? When I came back a few weeks later (with two weeks to spare before my wedding), I discovered why I should have gone elsewhere! My dress would not stay up and any alterations they did were poorly done. I took my dress home, sad and worried, and hoped that doublestick fashion tape would make my dress work out. But then in a panic, I called Isabel - mainly just to see if we could add some tulle to my skirt (I wanted it to be fuller). Isabel was so helpful and accommodating, and when she saw how my dress fit (falling off!) she immediately offered to fix it. I also ended up having her fix the bustle because the store where I purchased the dress did the bustle unevenly. Isabel was SO friendly, sweet, and wonderful to talk with, and she filled me with ONE HUNDRED PERFECT confidence. I left my dress with her with no worries at all... and when I came back - she had truly worked magic! My dress fit BEAUTIFULLY. Truly it fit better than I ever thought it could. Isabel worked her magic on my dress, plus she created a beautiful bustle that looked tremendously better than the one I had before. Isabel is truly the greatest seamstress I have ever met, and she is so wonderful to talk to and easygoing. Working with her was honestly one of the absolute best experiences of my wedding planning and preparation, and I am so grateful that she took the time to help me. Truly, she could be charging more than she does! She is very reasonably priced and truly so talented. I wish I had gone to her right away. THANK YOU, ISABEL! You're the best!!
Jazzmon
Wedding: 6/21/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Isabel is the SWEETEST person ever and also a miracle worker! I had my wedding dress custom made from overseas and as beautiful as it LOOKED there were A LOT of flaws within it. I found Isabel and met with her for a consultation and she came up with ideas I would have NEVER thought of to fix my dress. She turned it into my dream dress. It fit perfectly and was flawless. I even ended up bring my reception dress to her after she completed the work on my wedding dress. As it got closer to the wedding, I lost a few pounds and had to get my wedding dress altered again and she welcomed me with open arms! She was wonderful and very easy to work with. Worth EVERY penny!!
K
Wedding: 6/14/14
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.5/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Isabel is an incredibly talented seamstress. I was lucky that she was local to me, although I know some ladies travel from other states just to see her. I had several fittings, and she gave me lots of personal time at each to enjoy being in the dress, take pictures, and try on my jewelry. Isabel is also incredibly personable and friendly. The dress was perfect, and I couldn't even tell that it had been altered. She takes a lot of pride in her work and never takes shortcuts. She also does veils - altered my cathedral veil to make the top tier shorter, which included cutting and re-sewing lace. Your dress could not be in better hands!
Private User
Wedding: 5/24/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
LOVE HER! I was referred by MULTIPLE friends. She is amazing. Really knows what she is doing. Her work is amazing (she can pretty much do everything to a dress/gown!) She is very efficient with time and meeting any and all deadlines. While working on your dress she really takes the time to know you and your family (which I personally, loved!)
Hillary
Wedding: 4/27/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
After reading a few horror stories about the alterations department at the salon where I bought my dress, I found Isabel via her glowing reviews on Wedding Wire and decided to book an appointment with her ASAP. From our first fitting, I knew I was in great hands. Isabel is so careful, patient, and professional; she took her time with me so that I never felt rushed or pressured, and for every suggestion she made, she also made sure that it was clear that I had the final say. Above all, Isabel went above and beyond to make sure I felt comfortable, confident, and beautiful in my dress. I got so many compliments on my dress on my wedding day, and I can't thank Isabel enough for doing such a wonderful job!
Marcy
Wedding: 4/13/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Go to Isabel! I decided to wear my mother's wedding dress and it was a perfect, form-fitting, dress that I loved...until I found out I was pregnant. I figured I wouldn't be able to use the dress because I would be over 6 months pregnant by the time of our wedding so I shopped around for other dresses. When I couldn't find anything that I liked, I decided to take my mother's wedding dress to Isabel and see if there was anything we could do. With less than 3 weeks until the wedding, Isabel pulled a miracle and made the dress look fabulous! I got so many compliments and I didn't even look pregnant in my wedding photos. I really thought the dress would be unusable but Isabel works wonders! My mother and I couldn't be happier with her.
Jessica
Wedding: 1/10/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Isabel is the BEST! From the first time I talked to her and told her what needed to be done, she reassured and set me at ease. I bought my dress from another bride so I missed out on the magical moment of "saying yes to the dress". But when I went into Isabel's little shop and put on my dress she made me feel so special and lovely! The dress I bought was made for someone who is 5'1 and I am 5'5 so the challenge was with lengthening the dress. Isabel is a real pro and knew what needed to be done. After she walked us (My mom and I) through all our options, I felt no pressure from her. She was very upfront about the price and exactly what I could expect. After we figured out all of the alterations, I was able to try on several of the sashes and vales she makes. With the sash, she customized it exactly to what I wanted and then fitted it to my dress. It was so refreshing to be able to purchase everything I needed without going into a bridal boutique and being pressured. Isabel is so sweet and great at customizing items to your liking. She treated me like a daughter and I would highly recommend her! Her shop is in her house so if you are looking for high-end treatment this might not be the right fit. If you are looking for someone who is talented, knowledgeable and fair - go to Isabel!
Erica
Wedding: 12/20/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Isabel is a blessing! I had so many dress issues and she was absolutely amazing throughout it all... even altering the dress three times!!! I can't say enough about the quality of her work and the fact that she is so reasonably priced! She is an absolute gem!
Laksman
Wedding: 10/19/13
4.7 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
3.5/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Isabel Donnelly melted all my fears away by turning a nice sample sale wedding gown, waaay too big in the bust, into the wedding dress of my dreams. She is very expensive, and you have to be willing to pay a lot for her services. However, my mom covered the cost and had no problem paying for her quality work (I do not know that I could have afforded her if I had to pay myself.) I chose Isabel because her reviews were flawless, and I understand why. Her home sewing shop is clean and well-organized. She is gracious, friendly and kind. And she is willing to put in a lot of hours into making your dress fit right- she is a perfectionist. I was so worried that my sample sale dress would not fit well for my wedding, and debated buying another one, but when my bridesmaids saw me in the dress they thought I was just being crazy. Not so! Isabel fixed the dress, over three detailed fittings, bustled it beautifully and I could not have been more happy! My mom and husband, too :) I drove from Baltimore to Ellicott City for Isabel's alterations and I would do it all over again!
Kathleen
Wedding: 10/11/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We decided to use Isabel after reading bad reviews about the alterations from the shop we bought my gown from. Isabel did a perfect job on reducing a size 10 sample dress to a size 0. The dress was a heavy satin with no way to hide any mistakes. She fixed every little thing that did not look perfect. When you are with Isabel it is very evident that she loves working with brides and their dresses. She is a very talented seamstress who also makes custom veils and other accessories. Her cost (which she gave us at the beginning) was more than the original quote from the bridal shop (I do not know what the final price would have been from them) but, we received custom work from Isabel and peace of mind. I would absolutely recommend Isabel to anyone who needs alterations. She is truly a pleasure to work with, and really has an eye for what will look good.
Private User
Wedding: 10/5/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Simply put, Isabel is THE BEST. She took my dress, which was 3 sizes too large, 4 layers deep with double-embroidered lace, a short train and some awkward spots to fix, and made it perfect! She works magic. I think it's because she is wonderfully attentive, extremely flexible with scheduling (I drove in from Philadelphia just to have her services, and she even offered to bring the dress to me!), super kind, and most importantly- immensely talented. Isabel really cares about her work, and I was blown away with the results. She is an amazing seamstress, and a wonderful person on top of it all.
Kristen
Wedding: 10/5/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Isabel was literally like an angel to me!!!!!! I had a fairly good searching and purchasing process at Alfred Angelo in Glen Burnie. However when it came time to alterations (let's just say there was a breakdown in communication and complete lack of customer service) - I was faced with the fact that I had know idea who would be altering my gown 2 months away from the wedding! I called Isabel after a quick google search. Her reviews were amazing so I immediately contacted her with my story. She was consoling and understanding - fitting me in within 2 weeks of my call. She made me feel at ease with my situation, and made be feel so confident in my dress. She is a complete perfectionist - so immaculate with her alterations. I was able to bring my mother, sister, and 3 month old nephew to my fittings (she insisted on me bringing my nephew!). It felt like I was at a family member's house getting my dress altered. She even has numerous framed pictures of her clients around her walls. I can't believe how lucky I am to have found her. She made me feel like a beautiful bride. Some reviews report that her prices are high, but I do not think her prices are above what you would pay for the amazing quality she provides. If you want to pay less money, I wouldn't expect to receive the quality and professionalism you would get from Isabel. I would 100% recommend her services - she is someone you can trust with making you feel absolutely stunning on your big day.
Jessica
Wedding: 9/7/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I can not say enough good things about Isabel! She was skilled, as well as sweet! You can tell that she really loves weddings and wants her brides to have the best experience possible. Her prices are a little high, but her work is impeccable. She is a perfectionist, and will make changes to your dress over and over until she feels that it is the quality she wants. Her work is incredible!
Private User
Wedding: 9/1/13
0.6 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
1.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
1.0/5.0
Professionalism:
0.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
1.0/5.0
Flexibility:
0.0/5.0
Not happy. Very disappointed concidering all the positive review. Never thought I would feel so awful and disappointed about my wedding dress. I never write reviews but I was taken back by the service I received after high expectations from all the rave. Truly sad I now don't even want my dress anymore. I think making comments about how horribly made the dress you bought for your wedding day is, is beyond inconsiderate. I feel becuase of this she didn't feel the need to do her best work. I was shock at how awful the dress looked after the alteration. I'm left with a horribly made dress that I'm now aware of and a awful fit. Not meantion the price made no sense. I could have bought another dress for that amount. Sorry to leave this comment its not about bashing her work im sure its wonderful but evidently I did not receive that service.
Anonymous
Wedding: 8/10/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
All the wonderful raves and reviews are completely true - if you want the perfect wedding dress for your special day, make sure you go to Isabel. I did not think I wanted a wedding dress, in fact I had bought a more nontraditional one from a chain bridal store, however I was not happy and did not feel beautiful in it. Through a Google search I randomly found a bridal boutique that had my dream dress. The thing was it was 6 sizes too big (sample size) and the train was not what I thought I wanted - in fact initially coming to Isabel I told her I wanted the train removed. First of all the process with Isabel is so to speak "seamless" she is very upfront about the costs of everything - however they are WORTH IT. The detail and preciseness of her work is unparallelled to any other tailor I have ever seen. She also TAKES THE TIME TO MAKE SURE YOU ARE HAPPY. And makes you feel very special throughout the whole process. With my dress she had to take in the sides and make darts, which with intricate beading proved to be a challenge however the end results was immaculate. As mentioned I had also initially said I did not want a train, however Isabel advised me that I should keep the beautiful beading that was on it, and with her eye of expertise, found a way to only have a short train but keep the beading. She makes suggestions - does not force you to do them - but the suggestions she makes adds to the beauty of the dress and it's integrity. Isabel is a lovely person, it was a pleasure to just be in her company, and I wholeheartedly recommend her if you want your special day to be even more special. She did a beautiful job on my dress, I was more then happy and felt very beautiful and special.
ellie
Wedding: 8/10/13
4.8 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Isabel did an AMAZING job on my dress. My dress had lots of layers and delicate lace, and had to come down about 2 sizes, have the fit style changed slightly, and have a sash added. When it was finished, you would have never known it was ever altered and it fit me like a glove. I could tell during the fittings that she was very detail oriented and she was helpful in helping me decide what fit would be most flattering (keeping the dress A-line, or making it more of a fit-and-flare, etc.) I wish I could give her 5 stars in every category because I was extremely satisfied but I feel it's only fair for other brides to give 4/5 stars for value, since her alterations are quite pricey. However, she was very direct in our initial phone call about how much I could expect to pay so nothing came as a surprise. And I'm sure that many brides, like me, would be happy to pay a somewhat higher price to rest assured that their dress won't be altered poorly.
Private User
Wedding: 8/9/13
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.5/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Isabel is the greatest. I am a seamstress myself, however, I did not want to do my own alterations on my dress that I am wearing to my son's wedding. Isabel is a true professional and does a wonderful job. My dress was to big across the shoulders and needed to be hemmed. It was not a lot of work, but you cannot even tell that anything was done to the dress. She fitted it beautifully. She is a very pleasant and takes a lot of pride in her work. It was a real pleasure to do business with her. I would highly recommend her .
Private User
Wedding: 7/13/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I found the greatest dress, but wasn't sure it was the right one for me. I'm an older bride and was concerned it was too unstructured for me. Fortunately I found Isabel! She immediately decided the bodice needed to be fitted with more stays for greater support, and along with her other perfect alterations it became the dress of my dreams that I didn't even know I had!!! She's an exceptional designer and seamstress..., and an extremely nice person to boot. She's worth every penny she charges. I felt as beautiful as a bride should on her wedding day - largely thanks to Isabel!
 
 
Find Isabel Donnelly Bridal Alterations reviews from newlyweds in Baltimore that used Isabel Donnelly Bridal Alterations for Dress & Attire services.
 
<