home >  categories >  dress & attire >  isabel donnelly bridal alterations >  reviews

Isabel Donnelly Bridal Alterations

Services:

Dress & Attire

Bridal Alerations in Howard County, Maryland
Phone: 443-765-5465 
5145 Morningside Lane, Ellicott City, MD 21043
 
Overall Rating
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.9/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.9/5.0
Professionalism:
4.9/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.9/5.0
Flexibility:
4.9/5.0
 
64 Total Reviews
 
Marcy
Wedding: 4/13/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Go to Isabel! I decided to wear my mother's wedding dress and it was a perfect, form-fitting, dress that I loved...until I found out I was pregnant. I figured I wouldn't be able to use the dress because I would be over 6 months pregnant by the time of our wedding so I shopped around for other dresses. When I couldn't find anything that I liked, I decided to take my mother's wedding dress to Isabel and see if there was anything we could do. With less than 3 weeks until the wedding, Isabel pulled a miracle and made the dress look fabulous! I got so many compliments and I didn't even look pregnant in my wedding photos. I really thought the dress would be unusable but Isabel works wonders! My mother and I couldn't be happier with her.
Jessica
Wedding: 1/10/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Isabel is the BEST! From the first time I talked to her and told her what needed to be done, she reassured and set me at ease. I bought my dress from another bride so I missed out on the magical moment of "saying yes to the dress". But when I went into Isabel's little shop and put on my dress she made me feel so special and lovely! The dress I bought was made for someone who is 5'1 and I am 5'5 so the challenge was with lengthening the dress. Isabel is a real pro and knew what needed to be done. After she walked us (My mom and I) through all our options, I felt no pressure from her. She was very upfront about the price and exactly what I could expect. After we figured out all of the alterations, I was able to try on several of the sashes and vales she makes. With the sash, she customized it exactly to what I wanted and then fitted it to my dress. It was so refreshing to be able to purchase everything I needed without going into a bridal boutique and being pressured. Isabel is so sweet and great at customizing items to your liking. She treated me like a daughter and I would highly recommend her! Her shop is in her house so if you are looking for high-end treatment this might not be the right fit. If you are looking for someone who is talented, knowledgeable and fair - go to Isabel!
Erica
Wedding: 12/20/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Isabel is a blessing! I had so many dress issues and she was absolutely amazing throughout it all... even altering the dress three times!!! I can't say enough about the quality of her work and the fact that she is so reasonably priced! She is an absolute gem!
Laksman
Wedding: 10/19/13
4.7 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
3.5/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Isabel Donnelly melted all my fears away by turning a nice sample sale wedding gown, waaay too big in the bust, into the wedding dress of my dreams. She is very expensive, and you have to be willing to pay a lot for her services. However, my mom covered the cost and had no problem paying for her quality work (I do not know that I could have afforded her if I had to pay myself.) I chose Isabel because her reviews were flawless, and I understand why. Her home sewing shop is clean and well-organized. She is gracious, friendly and kind. And she is willing to put in a lot of hours into making your dress fit right- she is a perfectionist. I was so worried that my sample sale dress would not fit well for my wedding, and debated buying another one, but when my bridesmaids saw me in the dress they thought I was just being crazy. Not so! Isabel fixed the dress, over three detailed fittings, bustled it beautifully and I could not have been more happy! My mom and husband, too :) I drove from Baltimore to Ellicott City for Isabel's alterations and I would do it all over again!
Kathleen
Wedding: 10/11/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We decided to use Isabel after reading bad reviews about the alterations from the shop we bought my gown from. Isabel did a perfect job on reducing a size 10 sample dress to a size 0. The dress was a heavy satin with no way to hide any mistakes. She fixed every little thing that did not look perfect. When you are with Isabel it is very evident that she loves working with brides and their dresses. She is a very talented seamstress who also makes custom veils and other accessories. Her cost (which she gave us at the beginning) was more than the original quote from the bridal shop (I do not know what the final price would have been from them) but, we received custom work from Isabel and peace of mind. I would absolutely recommend Isabel to anyone who needs alterations. She is truly a pleasure to work with, and really has an eye for what will look good.
Private User
Wedding: 10/5/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Simply put, Isabel is THE BEST. She took my dress, which was 3 sizes too large, 4 layers deep with double-embroidered lace, a short train and some awkward spots to fix, and made it perfect! She works magic. I think it's because she is wonderfully attentive, extremely flexible with scheduling (I drove in from Philadelphia just to have her services, and she even offered to bring the dress to me!), super kind, and most importantly- immensely talented. Isabel really cares about her work, and I was blown away with the results. She is an amazing seamstress, and a wonderful person on top of it all.
Kristen
Wedding: 10/5/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Isabel was literally like an angel to me!!!!!! I had a fairly good searching and purchasing process at Alfred Angelo in Glen Burnie. However when it came time to alterations (let's just say there was a breakdown in communication and complete lack of customer service) - I was faced with the fact that I had know idea who would be altering my gown 2 months away from the wedding! I called Isabel after a quick google search. Her reviews were amazing so I immediately contacted her with my story. She was consoling and understanding - fitting me in within 2 weeks of my call. She made me feel at ease with my situation, and made be feel so confident in my dress. She is a complete perfectionist - so immaculate with her alterations. I was able to bring my mother, sister, and 3 month old nephew to my fittings (she insisted on me bringing my nephew!). It felt like I was at a family member's house getting my dress altered. She even has numerous framed pictures of her clients around her walls. I can't believe how lucky I am to have found her. She made me feel like a beautiful bride. Some reviews report that her prices are high, but I do not think her prices are above what you would pay for the amazing quality she provides. If you want to pay less money, I wouldn't expect to receive the quality and professionalism you would get from Isabel. I would 100% recommend her services - she is someone you can trust with making you feel absolutely stunning on your big day.
Jessica
Wedding: 9/7/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I can not say enough good things about Isabel! She was skilled, as well as sweet! You can tell that she really loves weddings and wants her brides to have the best experience possible. Her prices are a little high, but her work is impeccable. She is a perfectionist, and will make changes to your dress over and over until she feels that it is the quality she wants. Her work is incredible!
Private User
Wedding: 9/1/13
0.6 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
1.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
1.0/5.0
Professionalism:
0.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
1.0/5.0
Flexibility:
0.0/5.0
Not happy. Very disappointed concidering all the positive review. Never thought I would feel so awful and disappointed about my wedding dress. I never write reviews but I was taken back by the service I received after high expectations from all the rave. Truly sad I now don't even want my dress anymore. I think making comments about how horribly made the dress you bought for your wedding day is, is beyond inconsiderate. I feel becuase of this she didn't feel the need to do her best work. I was shock at how awful the dress looked after the alteration. I'm left with a horribly made dress that I'm now aware of and a awful fit. Not meantion the price made no sense. I could have bought another dress for that amount. Sorry to leave this comment its not about bashing her work im sure its wonderful but evidently I did not receive that service.
Anonymous
Wedding: 8/10/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
All the wonderful raves and reviews are completely true - if you want the perfect wedding dress for your special day, make sure you go to Isabel. I did not think I wanted a wedding dress, in fact I had bought a more nontraditional one from a chain bridal store, however I was not happy and did not feel beautiful in it. Through a Google search I randomly found a bridal boutique that had my dream dress. The thing was it was 6 sizes too big (sample size) and the train was not what I thought I wanted - in fact initially coming to Isabel I told her I wanted the train removed. First of all the process with Isabel is so to speak "seamless" she is very upfront about the costs of everything - however they are WORTH IT. The detail and preciseness of her work is unparallelled to any other tailor I have ever seen. She also TAKES THE TIME TO MAKE SURE YOU ARE HAPPY. And makes you feel very special throughout the whole process. With my dress she had to take in the sides and make darts, which with intricate beading proved to be a challenge however the end results was immaculate. As mentioned I had also initially said I did not want a train, however Isabel advised me that I should keep the beautiful beading that was on it, and with her eye of expertise, found a way to only have a short train but keep the beading. She makes suggestions - does not force you to do them - but the suggestions she makes adds to the beauty of the dress and it's integrity. Isabel is a lovely person, it was a pleasure to just be in her company, and I wholeheartedly recommend her if you want your special day to be even more special. She did a beautiful job on my dress, I was more then happy and felt very beautiful and special.
ellie
Wedding: 8/10/13
4.8 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Isabel did an AMAZING job on my dress. My dress had lots of layers and delicate lace, and had to come down about 2 sizes, have the fit style changed slightly, and have a sash added. When it was finished, you would have never known it was ever altered and it fit me like a glove. I could tell during the fittings that she was very detail oriented and she was helpful in helping me decide what fit would be most flattering (keeping the dress A-line, or making it more of a fit-and-flare, etc.) I wish I could give her 5 stars in every category because I was extremely satisfied but I feel it's only fair for other brides to give 4/5 stars for value, since her alterations are quite pricey. However, she was very direct in our initial phone call about how much I could expect to pay so nothing came as a surprise. And I'm sure that many brides, like me, would be happy to pay a somewhat higher price to rest assured that their dress won't be altered poorly.
Private User
Wedding: 8/9/13
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.5/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Isabel is the greatest. I am a seamstress myself, however, I did not want to do my own alterations on my dress that I am wearing to my son's wedding. Isabel is a true professional and does a wonderful job. My dress was to big across the shoulders and needed to be hemmed. It was not a lot of work, but you cannot even tell that anything was done to the dress. She fitted it beautifully. She is a very pleasant and takes a lot of pride in her work. It was a real pleasure to do business with her. I would highly recommend her .
Private User
Wedding: 7/13/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I found the greatest dress, but wasn't sure it was the right one for me. I'm an older bride and was concerned it was too unstructured for me. Fortunately I found Isabel! She immediately decided the bodice needed to be fitted with more stays for greater support, and along with her other perfect alterations it became the dress of my dreams that I didn't even know I had!!! She's an exceptional designer and seamstress..., and an extremely nice person to boot. She's worth every penny she charges. I felt as beautiful as a bride should on her wedding day - largely thanks to Isabel!
Alison
Wedding: 6/8/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Isabel is THE BEST! I cannot say enough great things about her and her fabulous work. I haven't had my wedding yet but have already completed my alterations so I am writing a review. I bought my dress on sample sale from Priscilla of Boston when they were closing the business in October of 2011. I needed to find somewhere else to get it altered b/c my wedding was still 1/5 years away. I was nervous to take such an expensive dress to someone but Isabel came so highly recommended online that I decided to use her. She is expensive but worth every penny! My dress was probably about 3 sizes too big, too long, and needed a few minor alterations to the overall look- Isabel was very meticulous in altering my dress and suggested many alterations that I would not even have thought of. She knows what she is talking about and does not shy away from adding more work to your alterations if she thinks it will make your dress look more perfect. I cannot wait to wear my gown on my big day! THANKS ISABEL!!
Denise
Wedding: 6/8/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Looking for a Seamstress who gives you confidence the moment you speak with her ? PLEASE see Isabel. She is absoultely amazing !! We have heard so many horror stories with alterations so we checked out reviews. Isabel lived up to all the ratings and compliments we read about. My daughters gown was complicated..Lots of beading and crystals. She altered the gown to fit including boning, placed a corsett, added a bustle. Isabel worked her magic and we couldn't have asked for a more skilled professional. She was always on schedule and so patient. We actually invited her to the wedding because we felt such a close friendship with her. If you are looking for the best seamstress and a no stress experience..You MUST meet Isabel !! The sweetest and most talented seamstress you will ever meet!! I Promise.
Karen
Wedding: 5/26/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Isabel is wonderful! I started working with Isabel in January for my wedding in May, and not only is she a very sweet person, but she her work is impeccable. My dress was too large all over, and I had major dress regret after I picked it up because it looked so ill fitting on me. Isabel was able to make it fit perfectly! It was tight in all the right places, and I felt comfortable in it dancing all night! She works very patiently with you through the fittings, and you have her full attention for your entire appointment. Her studio is in the basement of her house, and is clean, private, and I felt very comfortable leaving my dress there for the 5 months before the wedding. She is not the cheapest option, but I would rather spend a little more to make sure I'm working with someone who I felt comfortable with and had the great reviews, then try to save a few dollars and end up stressing over a botched wedding dress. I highly recommend Isabel!
Dian
Wedding: 4/27/13
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.5/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Isabel Donnelly is nothing short of a miracle worker. She is an EXPERT in wedding dress alterations. My daughter was so worried about her dress after the store where she bought it did a terrible job with alterations. We didn't see how it could ever fit properly, but Isabel made it happen. She REALLY knows her craft, worked to align beading I thought impossible to achieve, but she did it. She is a delightful person, and provides on-time delivery. Her service is worth its high price because she is the BEST. You get what you pay for. We are forever grateful that she made my daughter's wedding dress fit to perfection! She has my unqualified recommendation.
Heidi
Wedding: 4/27/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Isabel is a miracle worker with a heart of gold! I purchased my gorgeous, vintage-inspired Sue Wong dress from Bloomingdale's in NYC and they did a fine job with the hem, but they tried to add some support into the bodice (it has a sheer back), and they made a total mess of it--didn't fit the top half of me, straps were falling off...it was terrible. Between the bad alterations, rude employees, and inconsistency between whom I was talking to, I never wanted to go back. I was extremely upset, disheartened, and thought there was no way my dress would fit properly. Then, my mom found some rave reviews of Isabel online, and I'm delighted to write another to say she is AMAZING. Isabel met with me March 9, and my wedding was April 27, which didn't leave her much time (I recommend talking to her further in advance if you can for her sake!), but she did the most amazing job I could have imagined. At my first consultation, she spent two hours talking with me and considering various ideas for the best way to alter the dress that would make me the most comfortable. The best thing was to take it in, add some support (which she let me pick out instead of giving me some standard one-size-fits-all thing) stitch a seam in some of the netting in back, adjust straps, and take in the V-neck seam in front. TONS of work--especially because she had to remove and restitch some VERY intricate beading on the sides. The result was stunning. My dress fit perfectly. Isabel made it fit like a glove, and she re-stitched all the beading flawlessly. It looked like it was made for me, and in a way it was, thanks to Isabel! All that amazing work, and she was friendly, smiling, and so sweet every step of the way. The alterations cost a fair amount, but it was worth every single penny. I felt beautiful and comfortable on my big day, and I would recommend Isabel to any bride who wants a good alterations experience and high quality work.
Lindsay
Wedding: 3/15/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I purchased a gown from David's Bridal. My gown is mermaid/fit-to-flare. Isabel took the gown that was a bit large in the top and made it to fit perfectly. :-) The gown looked amazing when she was done. She made sure I had more than enough scheduled fittings and she even threw in the bustle at no extra charge! She is nice and friendly to talk with. She sat as I described how I wanted my dress to ultimately fit, and sure enough, when she was done, it looked like a gown from the runways of Paris. She does amazing work! I hope our paths cross again for furture business.
Faith
Wedding: 12/1/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I bought a dress from David's Bridal and I had a vision for it. The dress cost me nothing and Isabel made it into a couture masterpiece. Seriously, it fit perfectly, and all night people kept asking me where I got it. She took her time with me, and I never felt rushed! I could not recommend her more!!!
 
 
Find Isabel Donnelly Bridal Alterations reviews from newlyweds in Baltimore that used Isabel Donnelly Bridal Alterations for Dress & Attire services.
 
<